Currency & foreign exchange

The official Nepal currency is the Nepal Rupee. Bills come in denominations of 1, 2, 5, 10, 25, 50, 100, 500, and 1000. Coins come in denominations of 1, 2, 5 and 10.

Foreign currency must be exchanged through banks or authorized money changers. Please retain any receipts for money exchange transactions. Visitors can exchange foreign currency at the foreign exchange counter at the airport upon arrival as well. Visitors other than Indian nationals have to make payment in foreign currency (non- Indian currency) in hotels, trekking agencies or travel agencies and for air tickets.